books

Discuss Arabic reading and writing

Moderator: Ehab

books

Postby Jester » Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:34 pm

First, congratulations on the site and podcast. I speak a bunch of languages, all self-taught, and am writing a book on the techniques I've discovered (that they NEVER use in school!), and this kind of thing is right up my alley.

Normally I read a lot in my target language, but I'm having trouble finding material in Arabic. Ideal would be written at a level for about a 10 year old, but not text books or boring dialogues about where is the post office. I mean real, interesting books or text, whether fiction or non. The kind of stuff that's so interesting that you forget you're reading a foreign language and just want to know what happens next. Magazines can be good, too.

But it seems like the only elementary reading I can find in Arabic is either Koranic or picture books for toddlers, plus some poetry.

I've found a couple of bi-lingual books: arabic/french and arabic/italian, which help, but I'd love to find more. I've also bought some books in both arabic and english translation, but good translations often follow meaning much more than words, making it harder to really get what's going on in the Arabic sentence.

So, any suggestions are welcome. But, please, no textbooks!
shukran jazeelen!
Jester

Postby Moshaya » Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:25 pm

Hi Jester,

I understand how hard it is sometimes on finding a decent book on studying a language. I am in the process of learning a new language and am having a similar problem. However, Occasionally I come across some “interesting books” that you were talking about. The kind of stuff that is informative and fun to read. Unfortunately since I speak Arabic already I am not familiar with much of the Arabic materials. Hopefully some of our users can recommend one for you…I will start a new thread in the general forum as well

Mohamed
Moshaya
Site Admin

Postby Jester » Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:01 am

Thanks, Moshaya,